Quick Tomato Sauce

I have a basil plant this summer and it is still alive.  I tell you this because, until this summer, the only living thing I have managed to keep alive for any length of time has been children. Well, this pasta sauce has given me great incentive to keep my little basil plant alive. It was so good and so easy, I could eat it once a week. And, as a big bonus, both of my kiddos liked it too. The great thing about this sauce is that, with the exception of the basil, all of the ingredients are things I always keep in my pantry. The whole meal came together in about 30 minutes. That was 30 minutes with my precious children running around like maniacs.  I’d say that ain’t too shabby for a weeknight dinner. This one is going in the keeper file. I hope it goes in yours too.

Quick Tomato Sauce

Cook’s Country 2/2005

3 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil
3 cloves garlic , minced
1 (28-ounce) can crushed tomatoes
1 can (14 1/2 ounces) diced tomatoes
3 tablespoons minced fresh basil leaves
1/4 teaspoon sugar
Salt

1. Cook the oil and garlic in a medium saucepan over medium heat, stirring often, until fragrant but not browned, about 2 minutes. Stir in the crushed and diced tomatoes with their juice. Bring to a simmer and cook until slightly thickened, 15 to 20 minutes.

2. Stir in the basil and sugar. Season with salt to taste. When tossing the sauce with pasta, add some of the pasta cooking water as needed to loosen the consistency of the sauce.

Leave a comment

Filed under Sauce, Spicy

Leave a Reply

