French Dip Sandwiches

I know that ya’ll are probably thinking that I have either abandoned this blog or that I have been feeding my family McDonald’s for the last month.  Things have been super hectic here and while I have been cooking quite a bit, I haven’t found the time to blog. I promise that I have quite a few yummy recipes to share, so don’t give up on me.

One of my favorite types of shows are the ones where a guy goes around to different places and restaurants and eats the most awesome food on the planet. One of those shows that we love to watch is Man VS Food. Despite the fact that most of the challenges that Adam does would make me ralph in a heartbeat (can you say 72 oz. steak or 180 oysters?????), he does get to travel to cool places and eat some good chow. He visited a place in Brooklyn that was famous for their French Dip sandwiches and ever since Ren and I watched that, I have been obsessed with making one. So, we made them this weekend. I’ll tell ya, the only thing that wasn’t good about these is that there wasn’t enough. Now, I know some folks don’t like their bread soggy and if that is you, just don’t dip the sandwich in the au jus. But, if you like a yummy, soft, meaty, cheesy good sandwich, make this tonight. For real.

Slow Cooker French Dip

4 pounds rump roast

1 (10.5 ounce) can beef broth

1 (10.5 ounce) can condensed French Onion Soup

1 (12 fluid ounce) can or bottle beer

6 French rolls

2 tablespoons butter

**We put a couple of slices of provolone cheese on ours and melted it in the oven. OH YEAH.

1. Trim excess fat from the rump roast, and place in a slow cooker. Add the beef broth, onion soup and beer. Cook on Low setting for 7 hours.

2. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C).

3. Split French rolls, and spread with butter. Bake 10 minutes, or until heated through.

4. Slice the meat on the diagonal, and place on the rolls. Serve the sauce for dipping.

2 Comments

Filed under Sandwiches, Sauce

2 responses to “French Dip Sandwiches

  1. Michelle

    We made these for dinner tonight… they were DELISH! I went a overboard with the amount of meat per sandwich, so they ended up being “open faced” and we just poured the Au Jus on top. Holy moly… so good! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

