Awesome Chicken Satay

Last night, Ren and I had one of the most awesome dinners we have had in a long time. I absolutely adore Chicken Satay and I could probably drink the peanut sauce that it is served with. I have had this countless times at different Thai restaurants, but for some reason, never made it at home. But, I can assure you, this won’t be the last time we make this. It was outstanding and pretty easy to do. I served this with a wonderful Asian slaw that Ren devoured. I mean, he seriously devoured it. So, if you want a yummy meal to serve your family over Spring Break, try this one. You will be happy you did.

Chicken Satay

From Everyday Food

2 boneless, skinless chicken breast halves (6 to 8 ounces each), thinly sliced lengthwise into 12 strips

1 teaspoon toasted sesame oil

1 teaspoon soy sauce

1 garlic clove, minced

1/2 teaspoon red-pepper flakes

  1. In a bowl, toss chicken with sesame oil, soy sauce, garlic, and teaspoon red-pepper flakes. Season with salt and pepper. Thread each chicken strip lengthwise onto a skewer.
  2. Grill chicken on a grill pan or grill for 1 to 2 minutes per side. Serve with spicy peanut dipping sauce.

Spicy Peanut Dipping Sauce

Adapted from Cook’s Illustrated

½  C. smooth peanut butter

¼ C. hot water, plus more if needed

2 TBS soy sauce

2 TBS lime juice (I should tell you to use fresh, but I didn’t)

2 TBS Asian chili sauce (Sriracha sauce)

1 TBS dark sesame oil (I probably used more than this since the original recipe didn’t even call for it, but I LOVE IT)

1 TBS dark brown sugar

2 cloves of garlic, minced

1. Whisk the peanut butter and hot water together in a medium bowl.

2. Stir in remaining ingredients.

**The original recipe only called for ¼ cup of hot water, but I like  my sauce a little more thinned out, so I added a little bit more.

Leave a comment

Filed under Appetizer, Chicken, Sauce, Spicy

Leave a Reply

