Black Bean Salad

I am a crappy blogger. I just can’t get my stuff together enough to post very often. Oh well. That just makes it all the more special when I do. 🙂 I made this salad this past weekend to go with grilled chicken. My dear friend Amy LOVES black beans and avocados, so I made this for her. It is the perfect warm weather salad and we eat it all summer long. It is also super yummy with tortilla chips. I had to keep the boys from eating it all with chips before we ate so we would have some to go with our lunch. I really wanted to make homemade tortilla chips to go with it but my crew shot me down with “Get off the crazy train woman”. Maybe next time.

Black Bean Salad

Adapted from Myrecipes.com

Yield: 6 to 8 servings

1 cup of corn, frozen or canned
3 to 4 tablespoons lime juice
2 tablespoons olive oil
1 tablespoon red wine vinegar
1 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon freshly ground pepper
2 (15-ounce) cans black beans, rinsed and drained
2 large tomatoes, seeded and chopped
3 jalapeño peppers, seeded and chopped
1 small purple onion, chopped
1 avocado, peeled, seeded, and chopped (I used 2)
1/4 cup chopped fresh cilantro

1. Whisk together lime juice and next 4 ingredients in a large bowl. Add corn, black beans, and remaining ingredients; toss to coat. Cover and chill 2 hours.

Leave a comment

Filed under Beans, Salad, Side Dish, Spicy

Leave a Reply

