Pulled Pork Sandwiches

I adore pulled pork sandwiches. I am, after all, a good Southern girl. We Southerners take our barbecue very seriously. In fact, I can name at least 5 barbecue joints within a 5 mile radius of my house. My favorite thing to get is a pulled pork sandwich and put coleslaw on top of it. Now, to the uninitiated this probably sounds revolting, but trust me, it rocks. You must try it at least once. Even my cabbage-hating hubby loves his sandwiches this way. The other thing that makes this sandwich kick butt is the Coke BBQ sauce. I am from ATLANTA, home of Coca-Cola, so I only use Coca-Cola. Coke. The Real Thing. Please, for the love of all things good and holy, do not use Pepsi. If you must, do not tell me about it.

Slow Cooker BBQ Pork

Adapted from Southern Living magazine

1 (3-4 lb) boneless pork picnic roast

1 can of Coca-Cola (do NOT use diet!)

1 bottle of cheap barbecue sauce (do not spend money on the good stuff, save that for the sandwich)

  1. Place pork in 6 qt. slow cooker; pour barbecue sauce and Coke over roast. Cook on high 6 to 7 hours or until meat is tender and shreds easily.
  2. Remove pork from cooker and shred with 2 forks. After shredding you can add a little of the juices from the slow cooker to keep the meat super moist, but this isn’t imperative.
  3. Serve on buns with good barbecue sauce and coleslaw.

Coke BBQ sauce

From Steven Raichlen

1 C. Coca-Cola  (Do not use diet)

1 C. Ketchup

¼ C. Worcestershire sauce (I always use Lea and Perrins)

¼ C. A-1 steak sauce (I used Bold and Spicy A-1)

½ tsp. onion powder

½ tsp. garlic powder

½ tsp. black pepper

1. Combine all the ingredients in a saucepan and bring to a boil over medium heat.   Reduce heat to gentle simmer and simmer until reduced by ¼, about 6 to 8 mins.

Creamy Spiced Coleslaw

Adapted from Allrecipes.com

1 cup mayonnaise

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/2 teaspoon pepper

1/2 teaspoon celery seed

1/2 teaspoon garlic powder

1/2 teaspoon onion powder

2 tablespoons cider vinegar

2 tablespoons hot sauce, if desired

1 (16 ounce) package shredded

coleslaw mix (If you use an angel hair type of slaw, grate up some carrot into the mix)


1. In a large bowl, mix mayonnaise, sugar, salt, pepper, celery seed, garlic powder, onion powder and cider vinegar. Toss coleslaw mix with dressing to coat. Chill at least 1 hour before serving.

***I usually halve the amount of dressing because I don’t like my coleslaw too creamy or soupy.


3 Comments

Filed under Pork, Sandwiches, Sauce, Spicy

3 responses to “Pulled Pork Sandwiches

  1. Kim

    Can I please use diet? 😉 I can’t wait to try this. It looks so good!

  2. Stormy

    slow cooker pulled pork sammies are always a hit at Casa De Miller – but next time I will definately add the Coke to the process. This will be on the menu soon! 🙂

Leave a Reply

