Crazy Train Hummus

This hummus was almost the death of me. First, let me just say, I love hummus. LOVE it. I eat it several times a week for lunch with Stacy’s Crack chips. Until I had kids, I had never even eaten store-bought hummus. I always made my own. Now, I buy boat loads of Trader Joe’s Spicy hummus. Even though I don’t think that store-bought hummus tastes as good as homemade, I really love the creamy texture. So, in a crazy quest to make mine creamy, I searched the internet and my cookbooks to find out how to get mine super creamy and smooth.  Well, I found in a cookbook, Kitchen Sense, that peeling the garbanzos will give you the best hummus ever. SWEET!! No problemo! I can do that!! Um, yeah. Try peeling 2 cans of garbanzo beans with a 5 year old and a 2 year old running amok in your house.  But, I was determined. And, perhaps, a bit manic. When Ren got home, I looked like I had been in a war, but you know what??? That was the creamiest hummus EVER. So.dang.good. So, the moral of this story is that if you want awesome smooth and creamy hummus, you must peel the garbanzo beans. But, be prepared to board the crazy train if you do.

A little note: This recipe is all mine and the measurements may not be exact. I don’t really measure so much when I make hummus.  You should make your hummus to fit your own tastes. We love garlic and lots of lemon juice, so I put quite a bit. This recipe is just a guideline.

Hummus

2 cans chickpeas drained, reserving liquid

4 cloves garlic

¼ C. fresh lemon juice

¼. C. tahini

¼ C. olive oil

Cayenne pepper to taste

  1. Drain chickpeas over a bowl, reserving liquid. Place chickpeas on a tea towel or paper towel and cover with another towel. Roll and gently press chickpeas to loosen skins. Remove as many skins as possible.
  2. Mince garlic in food processor. Add remaining ingredients and process until very smooth. You may need to add some of the chickpea liquid or extra olive oil to get it to your desired consistency.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

