Grilled Pesto Sandwiches

I  had this sandwich for the first time the other day at a friend’s house. She made this for me and I absolutely loved it. In fact, I loved it so much I decided to make it for dinner last night. The weird thing is, I don’t even like tomatoes and I STILL liked this sandwich. It is so gooey and flavorful. It is definitely a step above regular ole grilled cheese sandwiches. Another awesome thing about this sandwich is for the second night in a row, my kids ate pretty much what Ren and I ate. CRAZY!!!! I hope you like it!! Oh yeah, don’t skimp on the pesto. It is what makes this sandwich great.

Grilled Pesto Sandwiches

From the AJC

Ingredients:

6 to 8 tablespoons prepared pesto
8 slices sourdough bread
6 slices Provolone cheese-We used 3 pieces per sandwich.
4 to 6 slices fresh tomato-We used 2 slices per sandwich.
1 to 2 tablespoons butter, softened

Instructions:

1. Spread pesto on one side of each piece of bread. Top with 1 1/2 slices of cheese and 1 to 2 tomato slices. Sandwich the bread, pesto sides inside. On the other sides of the bread, spread the butter to lightly coat.

2. On a stove-top griddle or in a large skillet over medium heat, cook the sandwiches until the bottom is golden and the cheese melts, about 2 minutes per side.

3 Comments

Filed under Cheese, Sandwiches, Vegetarian

3 responses to “Grilled Pesto Sandwiches

  1. Kim

    I’m making these for lunch tomorrow. Yum!

  2. Katie

    I made these last night! Yum! Thanks!!

Leave a Reply

