Sauteed Lemon Chicken Strips

Hello again. I’m sure some of you thought I fell off the face of the earth or just gave up on this whole blogging thing. I didn’t. Life just got super busy. My sweet baby girl turned 2 and I have been busy with that and other things. But, I have been cooking, so some pretty good recipes are coming your way. Tonight we had Sauteed Lemon Chicken Strips. Lord, these are so dang good. I mean, super good. Serve it to company good.  It is really Chicken Piccata, but a bit easier. I LOVE using chicken tenderloins because they cook up so quickly and are generally, well, very tender.  I served this with Alton Brown’s Oven Baked Brown Rice (recipe coming). This is yet another awesome recipe from Cook’s Country magazine. You really should subscribe to that magazine. No, they aren’t paying me. I just love it.

Sauteed Lemon Chicken Strips

You can make your own chicken tenderloins by slicing boneless, skinless breasts lengthwise into 3/4-inch strips. Serve over egg noodles or rice pilaf.

Serves 4

1 ½ pounds chicken tenderloins

Salt and pepper

2 TBS olive oil

3 TBS unsalted butter

3 garlic cloves, minced

2 TBS drained capers

1 TBS all-purpose flour

1 C. low-sodium chicken broth

1/3 C. fresh lemon juice

2 TBS fresh minced parsley

1. Pat chicken dry with paper towels and season with salt and pepper. Heat 1 tablespoon oil in large nonstick skillet over medium-high heat until just smoking. Cook half of chicken until golden brown and cooked through, about 2 minutes per side. Transfer to platter and tent with foil; repeat with remaining oil and chicken.

2. Add 1 tablespoon butter, garlic, and capers to empty skillet and cook until fragrant, about 30 seconds. Stir in flour and cook until beginning to brown, about 30 seconds. Stir in broth and lemon juice and simmer, scraping up any browned bits, until slightly thickened, about 3 minutes. Off heat, whisk in parsley and remaining butter. Stir in browned chicken along with any accumulated juices and season with salt and pepper. Serve.

3 Comments

Filed under Chicken

3 responses to “Sauteed Lemon Chicken Strips

  1. robin

    I’m making this!

  2. robin

    I made this tonight. FANTASTIC recipe!! LOVE IT!!! Yummo!!! 🙂

    I especially liked how easy it was to make and how tasty it was to eat! Delicious!! The usual chicken piccata recipe I have never turns out right because I have to add the white wine and let it reduce just the right amount. I can never seem to master this technique. This is the perfect recipe for a novice cook like me. Susie…. You rule! Keep those recipes comin’!! 🙂

  3. Yeah!!!!! I am thrilled you liked it. We absolutely loved this too. Try the rice. 🙂

Leave a Reply

