Oven Baked Brown Rice

First off, I have to say, I don’t love rice. I mean, I like it with Chinese food and the like, but really, I am a pasta girl at heart. However, I LOVE brown rice. It has such a great flavor and texture AND, as a wonderful bonus, it is quite good for you. I have been buying frozen brown rice at Trader Joe’s that you heat up in the microwave and have enjoyed it very much. But, I have been feeling guilty about paying a premium for something I know I can easily make cheaper at home. So, I tried Alton Brown’s recipe for Baked Brown Rice. The first time I made it, it was, hmmm..a sort of failure. It took that damned rice FOREVER to cook. And, in the end, it was still a bit on the crunchy side. Even Lily didn’t like it and she eats anything that doesn’t eat her first.  I originally made it with long grain brown rice so I thought that was the problem since the recipe called for short or medium grain. So, we went to Whole Foods and found short grain brown rice just for this *)^&% recipe. Guess what???? It still took an hour and a half to fully cook. But, it wasn’t crunchy. And, it was good and no real work. All that being said, this is a great recipe if you don’t mind starting dinner and hour and a half before you want to eat. I will definitely make it again because it doesn’t require much work at all.

Baked Brown Rice

Recipe courtesy Alton Brown, 2005

Prep Time: 5 min

Cook Time: 1 hr 5 min-This is utter crap. I have made this twice and it took an hour and a half.

Serves: 4

Ingredients

  • 1 1/2 cups brown rice, medium or short grain-I used long grain and it never got fully cooked.  I suggest short grain.
  • 2 1/2 cups water-I used one can of chicken broth and the rest water. I would use low sodium if you are going to add the kosher salt. I didn’t and it was salty, but I like salty. 🙂
  • 1 tablespoon unsalted butter
  • 1 teaspoon kosher salt
  • Some chopped fresh parsley

Directions

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees F.

Place the rice into an 8-inch square glass baking dish.

Bring the water, butter, and salt just to a boil in a kettle or covered saucepan. Once the water boils, pour it over the rice, stir to combine, and cover the dish tightly with heavy-duty aluminum foil. Bake on the middle rack of the oven for 1 hour.

After 1 hour, remove cover and fluff the rice with a fork. Serve immediately.

Leave a comment

Filed under Side Dish

Leave a Reply

