Fish Tacos

About 5 B.C, before children that is, Ren and I used to make the most awesome homemade fish tacos. We would fry up some tilapia with a homemade beer batter and put them in flour tortillas with my homemade chipotle sauce. Well, those days have flown out the window along with my sanity. We still have fish tacos, but we buy the Panko Breaded Tilapia from Costco. I will admit to being embarrassed by using store-bought fish, but honestly, I love this fish. It is really good. Plus, it made fish tacos move from something we only had very occasionally to a fabulous, quick weeknight meal. I am only going to post my recipe for the chipotle sauce. Feel free to use any fish your family likes. I always make a double batch and keep it in the fridge since it keeps so well. Incidentally, this sauce also tastes really great on Sweet Potato Fries. 🙂

Chipotle Sauce for Fish Tacos

1/3 cup sour cream

3 TBS mayonnaise

2 TBS freshly squeezed lime juice-Ok, I do cheat here. I use bottled, but it does taste better with fresh lime juice.

1 canned chipotle chile (I use 2 plus some of the adobo sauce)-We like our food super hot, so I used 4.

2 cloves garlic

½ tsp. chili powder

Combine all ingredients in food processor and process until smooth. The sauce will thicken as it stands and will keep for about 2 weeks in the fridge.

5 Comments

Filed under Fish, Spicy

5 responses to “Fish Tacos

  1. Kim

    I don’t even like fish tacos and this looks yummy.

  2. robin

    this looks good, but i think it would be better if you used steak instead of fish. 😉

  3. Jenn

    Made the fish tacos and chipotle sauce for dinner tonight (right down to using the panko crusted tilapia from Costco – love that stuff). Absolutely LOVED the sauce! I am thinking that it would be a great dressing for southwest cobb salads.

Leave a Reply

