So, I am starting a blog.

I have always wanted to start a food blog, but I haven’t for fear that no one would read it and if they did, they would think I suck. Well, with some gentle prodding from friends, I am starting one. I will be posting recipes and pictures of stuff I make for dinner or whenever. I am NOT a chef but I do love to eat good food. I hope ya’ll like it!

Dinner tonight was Tomato Basil Soup and homemade French bread (from my breadmaker, lame but easy). I absolutely LOVE Tomato Basil soup, but I find a lot of store bought ones are WAY too sweet for my taste. Anything that is tomatoey and sweet makes me want to hurl. I found this recipe on Allrecipes.com and we adore it. I’ll add pictures from the leftovers.

Rachel’s Tomato Basil Soup

Prep Time: approx. 5 Minutes. Cook Time: approx. 35
Minutes. Ready in: approx. 40 Minutes. Makes 6 servings.
Printed from Allrecipes, Submitted by CaraMommy


1 (28 ounce) can crushed tomatoes
1 (11.5 ounce) can
tomato-vegetable juice cocktail
1 (14.5 ounce) can chicken broth
20 fresh basil, cut into
thin strips
1 cup heavy cream
1/4 cup butter or margarine

I also added one can of petite diced tomatoes because I like it chunky.
Directions
1 In a large saucepan, combine the tomatoes, vegetable
juice, and chicken broth. Bring to a boil, and cook for 30
minutes. Remove from heat, and stir in the basil. At this
point, you may puree the soup if you wish. Add the cream and
butter; return to medium-low heat, and stir until butter is
melted. Serve immediately.

Obviously, this is in no way, shape or form healthy. I don’t give a crap about that though. I had been stuck in the house with my children all day because of a Snow Day and I wanted something warm and comforting. This totally fit the bill.

2 Comments

Filed under Cold Weather, Soups

2 responses to “So, I am starting a blog.

  1. Sharon

    Loving this blog, Girl! What great recipes – can’t wait to try the noodles and I was JUST wondering about a good recipe for chipolte sauce….now I have one! You are also witty and funny – keep them coming!

Leave a Reply

