Summer Rolls

Summer Rolls are one of my very favorite foods. I love them and could eat them all the time. That being said, I had never made them before because they seemed intimidating.  Now, that I have, I will be making them all the time.  They are not hard at all, but they are a bit time-consuming. I would make these when you are not super pressed for time or are just enjoying a lazy day. Ok, stop laughing. I realize that we, especially parents,  don’t have a lot of those kind of days, but these are so worth making. Also, there really isn’t a recipe, per se. It is more of a technique. Then, you can fill the summer rolls with whatever you like. If you want to add some shrimp, go for it. I really just like to keep mine vegetarian and then stuff my face with Chicken Satay. Be sure and whip up the peanut sauce (recipe here on the blog) to go with it.

Summer Rolls

I am not going to list any quantities because you can just make how many ever you want. Also, we had the best luck with using 2 of the rice paper wrappers at a time even though it made the outside a bit thicker. When we only used one, they seemed to tear and fall apart more. You can try one at a time and maybe yours will do better.

Here is what you need:

Round Rice Paper Wrappers

Rice Vermicelli

Romaine, green leaf or Bibb lettuce (shredded)

Carrots (shredded)

Cucumbers (peeled and cut into strips)

Fresh Basil (shredded or left whole, if desired. I prefer shredded.)

Fresh Mint

  1. Cook rice vermicelli according to the package directions (in boiling water for about 4 mins). Set aside.
  2. Combine lettuce, shredded carrots and the shredded basil. Have a little place with your lettuce mixture, cucumbers, mint and noodles all set up.
  3. Spread a clean, damp towel on work surface. Fill a pie plate or shallow skillet with about an inch of tepid water. Working 2 at a time (or 1 if you are brave), immerse the wrappers into the water until just pliable enough to work with. Lay the wrapper on the towel. Place a little bit of all your veggies onto the wrapper in this order: Vermicelli, lettuce mixture, cucumbers and ending with the fresh mint. Take care not to over stuff them or they won’t wrap properly. Wrap up the summer roll like you would a burrito. Take the ends and fold together and then roll.
  4. Cut in half on the bias. Serve with peanut sauce.

4 Comments

Filed under Appetizer, Vegetarian, Veggie, Warm Weather Food

4 responses to “Summer Rolls

  1. Carmen

    Pictures look amazing Ren :) I might almost be ready to try those again!

  2. Oh, my gosh! This looks so good! My Not-So-Bebe Girl is a new vegetarian – now that she’s stuck with it for more than 3 months (both of the older girls also went through a brief vegetarian phase), I’m on the lookout for great-tasting recipes that we all can enjoy. The fact that it is Asian-inspired is even better!

    • My little girl who is 2 doesn’t really like meat at all and she LOVED these. We had one left over that I was eating and she devoured it. I hope your girl likes it too!

Leave a Reply

