Chocolate Syrup

My kids drink quite a bit of chocolate milk. I know I should probably feel guilty about that, but I don’t. I do,  however, feel guilty when I buy the chocolate syrup with High Fructose Corn Syrup (HCFS) in it. I haven’t found ANY chocolate syrup at the regular grocery store that doesn’t have HCFS in it so, I have been buying it at Trader Joe’s. It is good, but we don’t live super close to a TJ’s and I really wanted an alternative that I could easily make at home. Friends, I have found it. This chocolate syrup is so stinkin’ good, that it makes your milk sing!!! I always worry when I make homemade versions of storebought stuff because usually my kiddos will turn their noses up at it (can you say homemade graham crackers?). But this stuff they have been snarfing down like there is no tomorrow. Hooray!!! Go make this. You will be a hero to your kids.

Homemade Chocolate Syrup

Recipe added by oneordinaryday on TastyKitchen.com

  • 1 cup Unsweetened Cocoa Powder
  • 1 cup Granulated Sugar
  • ¼ teaspoons Kosher Salt
  • 1 cup Water
  • 3 teaspoons Pure Vanilla Extract

1. Whisk cocoa powder, sugar, and salt in a pot until combined. Add water and whisk or stir until well blended. Bring to a boil over medium heat. Boil 4-5 minutes, stirring constantly. Remove syrup from heat and allow to cool.

2. When cooled completely, stir in vanilla extract until well combined. Pour syrup into an airtight container and refrigerate.

3. Makes approximately 1 3/4 cups of syrup and will keep in the refrigerator for 2 weeks. (It’ll never last that long though!)

Use 1 tablespoon per glass of chocolate milk.

2 Comments

Filed under Chocolate, Dessert, Sauce

2 responses to “Chocolate Syrup

  1. Scott M

    I love when shown recipes for things we don’t think of normally, like chocolate syrup. It also came up when a few of my favorite restaurants started making their own tonic water for their mixed drinks, esp. since the standard brands like Canada Dry have HFCS as well.
    Thanks for sharing!

    • I despise that HCFS is in EVERYTHING!! I also like finding good versions of stuff I would normally buy at the store. I hope you like this one. It is really, really good.

Leave a Reply

